2022 IMMAF Youth World Championships - Cage 3 & Medal Ceremony


The International MMA Federation will be heading to Abu Dhabi in August for its 2022 Youth MMA World Championships for 12 to 17-year-olds as part of a three-year hosting rights agreement.

MMA’s world governing body has confirmed the competition dates as 17 to 20 August (4 days), with the tournament draw taking place on 16 August. The event will be live-streamed at immaf.tv from the Jiu Jitsu Arena, Abu Dhabi.

Hosted by the UAE Jiu-Jitsu and MMA Federation, three categories of youth tournaments will be held under IMMAF Youth MMA Rules for 12 to 13-year-olds (Youth C), 14 to 15-year-olds (Youth B) and 16 to 17-year-olds (Youth A). The rule sets have been modified from the Unified Rules with respect to the developmental stage and safety of each age group as advised by IMMAF’s medical, coaching, and regulatory affairs committees. IMMAF does not permit head strikes for competitors under the age of 18.

The 2021 Youth Worlds attracted 331 athletes from 23 nations to Bulgaria amidst continued lockdowns and restricted travel for many countries. With lockdowns now lifted and a move of location, participation can be expected from a larger spread of nations.

The standard will also increase as this year’s minimum technical level required of 14 to 17-year-olds will be “Orange” grade, while “Yellow” grade will remain the requirement for 12-13-year-olds.

Wednesday, August 17, from 10am (GST/ UTC+3)
Day 1 of competition (Youth C); with Opening and Medals Ceremonies

Thursday, August 18, from 10(GST/ UTC+3)
Day 2 of competition (Youth B) and Medals Ceremonies

Friday, August 19, from 10(GST/ UTC+3)
Day 3 of competition (Youth A) and Medals Ceremonies

• Female – 3 divisions : Atomweight, Strawweight & Flyweight

• Male – 4 divisions : Strawweight, Flyweight, Bantamweight & Featherweight

Saturday, August 20, from 10(GST/ UTC+3)
Day 4 of competition (Youth A) and Medals Ceremonies

• Female – 3 divisions: Bantamweight, Featherweight, Lightweight & Welterweight

• Male – 4 divisions: Lightweight, Welterweight, Middleweight, Light Heavyweight & Heavyweight